Crys Matthews

Ontario

April 2024

Crys Matthews

Crys Matthews, who has been heralded as “the next Woody Guthrie,” stands out among emerging social justice musicians, though she lightheartedly describes herself as “the poster child for intersectionality.” Her compelling lyrics have been lauded by Justin Hiltner of Bluegrass Situation as “a reminder of what beauty can occur when we bridge those divides.”

Born and raised in a small town in southeastern North Carolina by an A.M.E. preacher, Matthews witnessed the power of music from an early age. A former drum major and classically-trained clarinetist turned folk singer, Matthews is using her voice to answer Dr. Martin Luther King’s call to be ” a drum major for justice.”

Matthews is an artist of our time, poignantly echoing the voice of a generation that chooses to embrace hope, and declaring it her duty to inspire through her music. Her album Changemakers serves as a timely vessel for this message; addressing topics of immigration, the opioid crisis, Black Lives Matter, and gun safety.

 TOUR DATES
Ontario
April 2024

Tues April 2  Waterloo ON (Workshop TBD)
Wed April 3 Waterloo ON
Thurs April 4 Alma ON
Fri April 5 Vasey ON
Sat April 6 West Guilford ON
Sun April 7 TBD
Tues April 9 TBD
Wed April 10 Thomasburg ON
Thurs April 11 TBD
Fri April 12 TBD
Sat April 13 Guelph ON
Fri April 14 Georgetown ON 

Reserve a ticket:

Please fill in all of your contact information and the details for the show you would like to attend, including  artist, location and date of show. We will forward your inquiry to the volunteer host who will contact you to make arrangements.

Name(Required)
YYYY slash MM slash DD

Home Routes / Chemin Chez Nous
137 rue Walnut Street
Winnipeg, Manitoba
R3G 1P2

Phone: (204) 480-3380
Toll-free: 1 (866) 925-6889
Fax: (204) 786-6259

Winnipeg Crankie Festival
137 rue Walnut Street
Winnipeg, Manitoba
R3G 1P2

Toll-free: 1 (866) 925-6889

Home Routes / Chemin Chez Nous acknowledges that we operate on the traditional lands of the Anishinaabe, Ininew and Dakota peoples, and on the homeland of the Metis nation. We have produced thousands of concerts across Canada, a land home to well over 600 First Nations, Métis and Inuit communities.